It’s been a little while since my last post, ‘An Incredible Six Weeks‘, and all I can say is that the brilliant experience has continued.

I’ve now reached October, four months into my internship at the Football Foundation. The role has developed, expanded and become more comfortable and I’m still loving every minute of it.

In the previous four months, I’ve come to learn so much about how the world of PR & Communications operates, not to mention the behaviour of the media and how they go about their jobs. I’ve continued to work day-to-day running all of the organisations social media channels from Twitter and LinkedIn to personally producing content for their YouTube channel. I’ve been lucky enough to attend a couple of events since my last post, I attended and filmed the openings of both Dion Dublin and Matt Elliott at Wreake Valley Academy and Olympic hero Victoria Pendleton at the Pendleton Sports Centre.  (Both of which can be found here)

DublinVideo.png   image1

Both events provided different opportunities and challenges, ranging from filming and interviewing, to managing and dealing with the media on the day. When your job allows you to personally meet and talk to sportspeople it’s difficult not to love what you do! It also expands my knowledge of the industry significantly as it is fascinating to learn how events like this are delivered, whilst managing key stakeholders on the day to ensure all media outlets are catered for.

“For those MMU students which are currently debating going on a placement or not – DO IT. It is worth the time and effort because these experiences that I and so many other students on placement are having, are invaluable to your development and future career.”

Recent months has also allowed me to develop my writing skills and be involved with a number of exciting and wide ranging projects. Writing frequently has certainly enhanced my writing ability from when I first joined the Foundation. I have been involved with projects for the Foundation quarterly magazine, Onside, as well as producing monthly articles for the Shoot! football website. I have also been lucky enough to write bigger articles for ‘fcbusiness’ magazine, a leading sports business magazine that is read by a large number of important people in the industry.

My ‘fcbusiness’ experience has been incredible. I have had the pleasure of helping produce two two-part interviews with Nigel Adkins and another football legend (can’t be named, you’ll have to read it when it comes out!).

Being able to work on projects with such high profile names is not only fascinating but makes work, well, not seem like work at all. Both part one and two of the Nigel Adkins interview have both been published and you can read Part One and Part Two on the links provided.

BEMAT Pendleton Centre
Picture by Alan Stanford/Stella Pictures Ltd

Furthermore, I’ve been given so many fantastic opportunities to develop myself as a more rounded individual with the Foundation offering in-house training as well as sending me on courses that I want to go on. It truly is a BRILLIANT place to work and learn and I don’t want to leave.

For those MMU students which are currently debating going on a placement or not – DO IT. It is worth the time and effort because these experiences that I and so many other students on placement are having, are invaluable to your development and future career. Get in touch with the Placement Hub, get your 1-2-1 CV session and get yourself out there. I’m already a third of the way through my placement and I have already learnt so much about the ‘real world’ and am passionate to learn more. You won’t regret it!

For anyone who wants to see any or all of my written work so far, please don’t hesitate to get in touch and I want to thank you all for taking the time to read about my journey so far.

 

Leave a Reply

